Some are leaders in local, regional and national writing organizations, including the National Association of Science Writers. All teach for both the MA in Science Writing and the Graduate Certificate in Science Writing. Some also teach for our partner, the MA in Writing Program. Their many national awards include those from the Society of Professional Journalists, Best American Essays, National Association of Science Writers, Fulbright Scholarship, Overseas Press Club, National Press Club, Society for Technical Communication, Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting, and Council for the Advancement and Support of Education.

Guest lecturers and readers have included bestselling author Rebecca Skloot; National Public Radio science correspondents Joe Palca, Christopher Joyce, and Joe Neel; Pulitzer-winning medical writer Diana Sugg, science executive editor Jamie Shreeve of National Geographic Magazine; Tim Appenzeller, News Editor at Science magazine; Joel Achenbach, Juliet Eilperin, and David Brown of The Washington Post; New York Times reporter John Branch; Science News writer Susan Milius; author and magazine writer Shannon Brownlee; award-winning author and journalist Robin Marantz Henig; Debbie Myers, formerly of the Science Channel and Discovery Communications; Adam Marcus, co-founder of Retraction Watch; Flora Lichtmain and Katherine Wells, creators of the Adaptors podcast, and medical writer Lynne Lamberg, author of The Body Clock Guide to Better Health and other books.

The Science Writing Program is advised by a Program Committee that includes Program Chair Brad Leithauser, best-selling author and Johns Hopkins Professor of Psychiatry Kay Redfield Jamison, Pulitzer-winning journalist Diana Sugg, and faculty members.

Program Director

Associate Program Director

Program Coordinator

Adjunct Faculty

Audience Menu