Our approach combines principles about teaching writing learned from the National Writing Project with an approach to writing developed over our more than twenty years’ experience with the Johns Hopkins M.A. in Writing Program.

The program is chaired by Brad Leithauser, a novelist, poet, essayist, journalist, and professor at The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins. The program director is Mark Farrington. Among our senior faculty are Ed Perlman, Susan Muaddi Darraj, Heidi Vornbrock Roosa, and Joanne Cavanaugh Simpson. Other visiting and adjunct instructors include Evan Balkan, Nick Maneno, Kim Sloan, and Catherine Hailey. For more information, click on the faculty member’s name to view a profile.

Program Directors

Senior Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Audience Menu