The Writing Program’s faculty features practicing writers and editors who excel at teaching. Some instructors are full-time writers or editors who have time to teach only every year or two. Others maintain their professional credentials but teach more often to provide continuity in the curriculum and develop deeper relationships with students. This mix produces a faculty aware of current trends but focused on the art and craft of teaching.

The program is chaired by the prolific poet and novelist Brad Leithauser. The program director and Fiction Advisor is Mark Farrington. The associate director is Karen Houppert, who also serves as Nonfiction Advisor.

Program Chair

Brad Leithauser

Program Director

Mark Farrington

Associate Director, MA in Writing

Karen Houppert

Associate Director, Science Writing

Melissa Hendricks

Senior Faculty

Adjunct Faculty

Writer in Residence

Tim Wendel

Special Lecturers