John Andrews

John Andrews (special guest lecturer) is the founder and president of The Shakespeare Guild, a global nonprofit corporation which promotes the endeavors of a broad array of cultural institutions in the arts and the humanities. As editor for the venerable Everyman Shakespeare series, he has enlisted an impressive cast of actors to write forewords; they include F. Murray Abraham, John Gielgud, Hal Holbrook, James Earl Jones, Kevin Kline, Kelly McGillis, Tony Randall, and Tim Pigott Smith. Under the auspices of the Guild, he created the Sir John Gielgud Award for Excellence in the Dramatic Arts, which has been given to actors such as Sir Ian McKellen and Sir Derek Jacobi. Through the years, he has worked with some of the greatest actors of our age: Julie Harris, Patrick Stewart, F. Murray Abraham, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, James Earl Jones, and Sir Peter Ustinov, to name a few. He also has collaborated with PBS, BBC, and the Folger Shakespeare Library. Andrews has taught at several universities: Tennessee, Florida State, Catholic, George Washington, and Georgetown, as well as appearing on numerous radio and television programs. Andrews joined the Writing Program faculty as special guest lecturer for the Shakespeare in Washington elective course in Spring 2007.

To view all Writing Program faculty, click here.